Honda Foundation announces 8th Honda Young Engineer and Scientists Award in India

February 13, 2015 New Delhi

  • brochure icon

·Provides scholarships to 14 aspiring Engineers and Scientists

·Opportunity for higher professional education in Japan

New Delhi, February 13, 2015: Honda Motor India Pvt. Limited (HMI) today announced the 8th Young Engineers and Scientists’ (Y-E-S) awards for 2014 in India. The Young Engineers and Scientists’ Award were presented to fourteen students from India’s premier institutes for science & technology - Indian Institute of Technology. The YES awards were instituted by Honda Foundation in India in 2008 to encourage and support young Indian engineers and scientists.

The Chief Guest His Excellency Mr. Takeshi Yagi, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary, Embassy of Japan, presented the awards to the students in recognition of their outstanding all round performance in academics. Also present at the occasion were Mr Kunio Nakajima, Vice President, Honda Foundation and Mr. Yoshiyuki Matsumoto, Managing Officer, Honda Motor Company and Representative of Development, Purchasing and Production in Asia & Oceania Region

The Y-E-S Award initiative of Honda Foundation in India has been facilitated by Honda Motor India Pvt. Ltd., to foster young students who have excelled in the area of science and technology and continue to aspire for higher academic achievement in the area of Eco-Technology. The Y-E-S Award program is designed to provide financial assistance to young Indian engineers and researchers. This platform also provides an opportunity to acquire higher professional education in Japan and further help in strengthening Japanese relations with India.

A scholarship of cash equivalent of US $3000 each, was presented to fourteen students selected from eight IITs - Delhi, Bombay, Roorkee, Madras, Kharagpur, Kanpur, Guwahati and BHU on the basis of their Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA), technical papers, essays and finally in the one-on-one interviews with Dr. D R Prasada Raju, Ex - Scientist, Dept. of Science & Technology, Government of India, who was the chief assessor of the selection committee. 

Talking about Y-E-S Awards, Mr. Yoshiyuki Matsumoto, Managing Officer, Honda Motor Company and Representative of Development, Purchasing and Production in Asia & Oceania Region said, “It has been our endeavor to promote and encourage young students to involve in higher research in the field of technology. We want to provide them the opportunity with Y-E-S awards so that they can fullfill their dreams. He added, “All the editions of Y-E-S awards have received tremendous response and enthusiasm from the IIT students who put in their best efforts to showcase their work. So far we have awarded 98 such students in 8 years”.   

The awardees for Y-E-S awards 2014 in India are:

Nikhil Oberoi - IIT BHU, Sajal Maheshwari - IIT BHU, Anand Pradeep Lalwani - IIT Bombay, Harsh Anil Kabra - IIT Bombay, Shyam Sunder Prasad - IIT Bombay, Suman Shekhar - IIT Delhi, Shreya Raina - IIT Guwahati, Akshay Aggarwal - IIT Kanpur, Akshay Vijay Chaudhari - IIT Kanpur, Siddharth Prusty - IIT Kanpur, Yash Chandnani - IIT Kharagpur, Vishal Subbiah - IIT Madras, Aman Gupta - IIT Roorkee, Madhav Kiritkumar Pathak - IIT Roorkee.